July 20, 2017

Federal Skilled Trades


Express Entry

Express Entry, an electronic management application involving the Federal and Provincial Governments including Canadian employers, is a system designed for immigration to Canada. Express Entry is not an immigration program or a type of visa, rather it is a system used to help with the selection and process of Canada’s immigration programs. These programs include Federal Skilled Worker Class, Federal Skilled Trades Class, and Canadian Experience Class.

Federal Skilled Trades

The Federal Skilled Trades Program is for people who want to become Canadian Permanent Residents based on being qualified in a skilled trade.

Federal Skilled Trades– Eligibility 

The minimum criteria that must be met in order to qualify you as eligible for the Federal Skilled Trades include:

  • Meeting the minimum required scores on the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) exam in
    • Speaking
    • Reading
    • Writing
    • Listening
  • Have at least two years of full-time work experience or an equal amount of part-time work experience in a skilled trade within the five years before you apply
    • Full Time 30 hours/week for 12 months = 1 year full time (1,560 hours)
    • Part Time 15 hours/week for 24 months = 1 full time (1,560 hours)
  • Meet the job requirements for that skilled trade as set out in the National Occupational Classification (NOC)
  • Have either an offer of full-time employment for a total period of at least one year or a “Certificate of Qualification” in that skilled trade issued by a Canadian provincial or territorial authority (not Quebec).


Skilled Work Experience 

The Skilled Trades that are currently eligible for the Skilled Trades Program are under these major and minor groups of the NOC:

  • Major Group 72, industrial, electrical and construction trades,
  • Major Group 73, maintenance and equipment operation trades,
  • Major Group 82, supervisors and technical jobs in natural resources, agriculture and related production,
  • Major Group 92, processing, manufacturing and utilities supervisors and central control operators,
  • Minor Group 632, chefs and cooks, and
  • Minor Group 633, butchers and bakers.

The major NOC groups are subdivided into different occupations, all of which are NOC skill type B.

In order to be eligible for the Federal Skilled Trades Program, you are required to show that you did the duties mentioned in the lead statement of the occupational description in the NOC.



The Federal Skilled Trades Program does not require you to have a post secondary education. However, if you hope to apply for Permanent Residence through the Federal Skilled Trades Program, you still want to obtain points under the education category through the Express Entry process.

This is because education is highly valued in the Express Entry process, an applicant could receive up to 150 points depending on their education. If you want to earn points under Express Entry you need

  • a Canadian post-secondary certificate/diploma


  •  A completed foreign education with a Educational Credential Assessment (ECA) report from any agency approved by the CIC.


Language Ability

To be eligible for Permanent Residence Visa under the Federal Skilled Trades Program, you must meet the Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) minimum of 5 for speaking and listening, and CLB 4 for reading and writing.

All Express Entry applicants must take the IELTS exam, it is required that each applicant submits their IELTS results.  Applicants who are proficient in French receive additional points.


What’s next?

Our team at Canada By Choice Immigration has helped over a thousand people immigrate into Canada through Express Entry. We provide our clients with their own personal Case Manager, supplying you with some of the most elite immigration minds with competitive services, developing your profile for the best possible chance at success. Our services include locating job opportunities for our clients as well as prepare them for the IELTS exam through a 30-day program.

Let us help you navigate through the immigration process, take our free assessment at canadabychoice.com/free-assessment


Canada By Choice Immigration